Search This Blog



This post is a brief summary of our 2017 season.  It accompanies the 2017 sailing awards post that follows, and the many 2017 photos in the Starboard Column (smartphone users will have to click on the "view web version" to see the full blog with port and starboard columns)

We had a really good 56th season, but it was bittersweet because we lost three mainstays of the Yacht Club:  Wayne Truex, then Joe Voelz, and then John Sohn.  Joe Voelz was one of the original founders back in 1961.  These were special people. We toasted them with heartfelt esteem at our final protest meeting.
Wayne & Arlene
Joe and Phyllis
John and kids

On our 10 race days we had 46 race participants nearly half of whom were not sailors, but volunteers on the officiating boat or “committee boat”.  In an average race we had 10 sailors and 5 volunteers. 

In 2017 our fleet of sailboats was in the process of catching up to the significant number of new sailors that joined us in 2016 and a couple of new sailors this year.  That catching up process took a while as boats were fixed, traded or acquired.  We should realize the full benefit of more boats and sailors on the water in 2018.

Our overall champion was wind-reader Jim Voelz again this year. 
Jim accumulated nearly 70% more points than the next-closest competitor! 

Jim Voelz (right) accepts 2018 Overall Champion trophy from Race Chairman Kevin Preuss

He also won 1st place in the Laser Class.  
Peggy Voelz won 1st place in the International Class,   
and our 1st place crew was Paul Hass. 

(The post that follows this one has photos of all those who won awards and some of the fun we had at the final protest meeting of the year)

We had a number of unusual events this season:

  • We joined a nationwide hygiene movement among yacht clubs all over the country by burning our winter socks after the first race.  Bet you didn’t know that sailors wear the same pair of socks all winter. A photo of this event was published in the Republic Newspaper.  
  • The Republic also ran a feature article on the Club in September with lots of great photos. 
    Here is the link to the article:
  •  Matt Bartlett was our first windsurfer competing in a race in nearly twenty years. 
  •  We think we set a club record with 30 capsizes on an epic race day on June 25th – check out the exciting post for that race. Here is the link
  •  And we had our first paddle board race which was conducted along with the kayak race at the 4th of July breakfast. – Thanks to Max Henry for coordinating.


Our Spring Social, Holiday Breakfasts and Post-Race Protest meetings remain popular based on attendance.  Thanks to our hosts:
Margaret Powers – Spring Social
Hostess Margaret greets Mike during cocktail hour at the Spring Social
The feast before us at the Spring Social
Steve and Marisa Willment – Memorial Day Breakfast
Memorial Day Breakfast

Mark Cassidy and Dianne Fisher – July 4th Breakfast
July 4th Breakfst

Steve and Vicki Zeller- Labor Day Breakfast
Labor Day Breakfast
We recognized the "Labors" of our GLOA Board and Committee Members.  Here Frank Reindl thanks Brad Arthur for his 9 years of service as Board President at an important time for the lake.

and of course Arlene Truex for all those Protest Meetings. 
Thanks to Beth Auld, our Committee Boat Chairperson, Lisa Duret, our Secretary/Treasurer, and Kevin Preuss, our Race Chairman. And thanks to the 50 families that are members of the Yacht Club.


This post about sailing awards accompanies the 2017 season highlights post that proceeds it.

Following the last race of the season we docked our boats, tallied the results and gathered as usual at the Truex's patio to dine on great pitch-ins, award trophies, medals, and tokens of gratitude.

Remember we just got back from a race.  So here we see our sailors critiquing their strategies and tactics and otherwise re-living the race.  These are weighty matters worthy of discussion and contemplation.

Meanwhile guests showed up like....
Marissa and Steve, hosts of the Memorial Day Breakfast, 
Many-time gourmet Committee Boat volunteers Jack and Sandi,
Beth, bearing gifts, 
Mimi and Julia, upbeat as usual,
Jim Riffle sporting port and starboard eyeglass floats

We celebrated Tom's milestone birthday.  Here he blows out the candles. Sure, go ahead and count them and do the multiplication (times 5).

 A very heartfelt toast:
We began the awards presentation with an acknowledgment that although we enjoyed the racing season, it was bittersweet because of the loss of three mainstays of the Yacht Club, first Wayne Truex, then Joe Voelz, one of the founders, and then John Sohn. We knew that we were enjoying the company of a wonderful group of people like they really loved to.  We raised a toast to their memory, knowing they would have appreciated it.
We thanked our  Committee Boat volunteers, event hosts, good Samaritans, and others.  Here Beth hands out a memento to volunteer Randy Clark.
Here the "Ghost Sailor" trophy is held up for display.  It was awarded to five sailors who were with us in spirit, but not in a boat, at least not as much as we wanted them to be.  To be fair to the various winners,  the trophy will be traveling on an established schedule from home to home for display.
The Booby prize is marched out and awarded to Matt Bartlett, captain, and Jim Riffle, crew of the M-Scow that capsized and turtled in the epic winds of the June 24th race.  Matt's scribbled sketch of the event on a post-it-note (below) was enlarged, laminated and displayed in cylindrical form inside the pedestal mounted chamber pot trophy.

Then the serious race trophies and awards, won based on points were awarded by Race Chairman Kevin Preuss.

The holiday weekend "Trophy Race" trophies were awarded, one for each of the holiday weekend races according to tradition (times have changed though, so we avoid having races on holiday weekends)
Jim Voelz won the Memorial Day Trophy Race.  The trophy is now a "double-decker" monument because of the age of the club and the number of past winners

Tom Jennings displays the July 4th stained glass trophy he won.
The Labor Day Trophy got some special attention this year.  Several years ago, Wayne and Arlene Truex had a beautiful stained glass trophy made to replace the "chamber pot" trophy that we now use as the "booby prize".  Wayne hated that chamber pot trophy because it is so ugly (then he and Bob Orben won it the first year it became the booby prize).  Since the GYC was so important to him, Wayne's brothers wanted to memorialize him in some meaningful way.   So they had a very beautiful stand made for the Labor Day trophy with an engraved plaque in Wayne's memory. 
Peggy Voelz won the Labor Day Trophy Race and  displays the trophy and stand in memory of Wayne Truex.
Then the 1st 2nd and 3rd place trophies and medals for the 3 classes of competition were awarded (Lasers, International, and Crew)
Jim Voelz won 1st place in the Laser class

Laura Garret won 2nd in the Laser class
Tom Jennings won 3rd in the Laser class.  Sorry no picture

Peggy Voelz won 1st in the International Class
Tom Schroeder won 2nd in the International class

John Auld won 3rd in the International class.  That is his crew, Paul Hass to his left.  You'll see him again in a minute because.....
Paul Hass won 1st Place in the Crew class
Arlene Truex won 2nd Place in the Crew class
There was a three-way tie for third in the crew class which included:
Ben Cartwright
Elizabeth Hale, &
Gediminas Ramanauskas

Then some special overall awards were presented:
Ben Cartwright won the "Rookie of the Year" trophy (sorry no photo)

and Finally,

Jim accumulated nearly 70% more points than the next-closest competitor!

We are expecting another great season in 2018.  See you then!